Tour of Rhodos 2021

A first big success for us

Tour of Rhodos 2021

May 4, 2021

Last year the Tour of Rhodes was our first race of the season before the Lockdown started. This year it was already the second Tour of the season and a great success for our newly formed team. The highlight: Mikà Heming sprinted to third place in the first stage.

At the one-day race GP Rhodes ( UCI 1.2) Mikà Heming was able to achieve a respectable fifth place at the beginning. A leading group of 24 riders decided the race among themselves in a sprint. After Heming had started his sprint early, he had to let the later winner Tord Gudmestad from Team Coop and three other riders pass. The feedback of the sporting director Rupert Hödlmoser was nevertheless very positive: “This was a great start into the races on Rhodes for us. Mika did exactly what we had discussed in the sprint. So we were able to start the following tour with a prologue and three demanding stages in a relaxed mood.

In the 2.2km prologue along the coast, two Pushbikers finished in the top 20: Mikà Heming and Paul Taebling finished 17th and 19th, just 7 seconds behind; they were followed by Michal Galka in 25th. After the nearly 139 kilometres and two mountain classifications, the second stage saw an exciting German podium: Christian Koch (Lotto – Kern Haus) secured victory in a bunch sprint ahead of teammate Kim Heiduk and Pushbiker Mikà Heming.

After everything the team had planned for the first stage had worked out, the Pushbikers only managed to make it to the final the following day with Corey Davis in the favourites group. In the last stage, Mikà Heming was not able to launch his sprint in the best possible way. Overall, the Maloja Pushbikers with Corey Davis finished 17th in the overall classification, 7th out of 21 in the team classification, and 11th and 12th in the young riders classification with Paul Taebling and Heming.

 

Tour of Rhodos 2021
Tour of Rhodos 2021
Tour of Rhodos 2021

Podium goal achieved

It was our stated goal to be on the podium at a UCI race this season. To achieve this so early in the season takes a lot of pressure off our shoulders and motivates us immensely. Both the 5th place at the GP Rhodes and the 3rd place in the first stage of the Tour of Rhodes allowed the team to collect valuable UCI points.

Miká Heming comments on his good performance in retrospect that he did not lose his nerve, drove more with an eye and could rely on his team. “I was able to concentrate on the final. It wouldn’t have been possible without the team, the guys brought rations, gave me slipstream and followed attacks.”

The new direction is right, and yet it is important for the Maloja Pushbikers Road to develop steadily and step by step in order to make successes like these more regular.

 

PULSE of 180 also as a supervisor in the support vehicle 

First time as a physiotherapist: Beate Kretzschmar had never worked so close to a cycling team before. “I didn’t know what it meant to ride a bike race. All the organisation, the work in the background, the interaction with each other – I was fascinated. At Miká Heming’s 5th place at the GP Rhodes I was able to be there in the support car and I had a pulse of 180 for 190km. That was insane, how the athletes race like that. So much happens, you can hardly keep up. Crashes, defects, fetching bottles, tactical talks and all that under maximum physical performance”.

“I have always believed in the team”.

“In the end, you always have to believe in yourself” – that is Miká Heming’s conviction. If you are fresh in the head, if not everything in life revolves around cycling, and if you get used to being a team – these are important prerequisites in his estimation. “This will not remain our best result this year”.

The organisers of the Tour of Rhodes have once again done an excellent job with this tour, which we always enjoy coming back to. Our great praise also goes to the Lotto Kern Haus team, which won two stages and came second overall. An achievement that deserves absolute respect and was great to watch.

For the Maloja Pushbikers Road Team it’s now a few days of regeneration before they head to the Belgrade – Banja Luka UCI2.1 tour next week. Last year, the Pushbikers won the mountains jersey with Miká Heming. This year, the team will try to find and place themselves as a complete team. It is difficult to estimate the results in the strongly contested race. But one thing is certain: the Pushbikers are hungry and motivated. As a team, we are on the right track.

Overview of the results

 

Tour of Rhodos / UCI Europe Tour 2.2

 

Prologue

17. Miká Heming

19. Paul Taebling

25. Michal Galka

 

Stage 1

3. Miká Heming

 

Overall Classification GC

07. Team classification

17. Corey Davis (25 seconds behind)

11. Paul Taebling (Young talent ranking)

12. Miká Heming (Young talent ranking)

Tour of Rhodos 2021

Ein Riesen Erfolg für uns

Tour of Rhodos 2021

Apr 12, 2021

Im vergangenen Jahr war die Tour of Rhodos unser erstes Rennen der Saison bevor der Lockdown startete. Heuer war es bereits die zweite Rundfahrt der Saison und ein großer Erfolg für unser neu gestaltetes Team. Das Highlight: Mikà Heming sprintet in der 1. Etappe auf den dritten Platz.

Beim Eintagesrennen GP Rhodes ( UCI 1.2) konnte Mikà Heming zu Beginn einen beachtlichen fünften Rang verbuchen. Eine Spitzengruppe von 24 Fahrern entschied das Rennen im Sprint unter sich. Nachdem Heming seine Sprint früh angezogen hatte, musste er den späteren Sieger Tord Gudmestad vom Team Coop sowie drei weitere Fahrer vorbeiziehen lassen. Das Feedback des Sportlichen Leiters Rupert Hödlmoser fiel nichts desto trotz vielvesprechend aus: “Das war für uns ein super Start in die Rennen auf Rhodos. Mika hat im Sprint genau das umgesetzt, was wir besprochen hatten. So konnten wir entspannt in die folgende Rundfahrt mit Prolog und drei anspruchsvollen Etappen gehen.”

Beim 2,2 km Prolog entlang der Küste erreichten zwei Pushbiker unter den Top 20 das Ziel: Mikà Heming und Paul Taebling belegten mit nur 7 Sekunden Rückstand das Ziel die Plätze 17. und 19; ihnen folgte Michal Galka auf 25. Nach den knapp 139 Kilometern und zwei Bergwertungen gab es bei der zweiten Etappe ein spannendes, deutsches Podium: Christian Koch (Lotto – Kern Haus) sicherte sich im Massensprint den Sieg vor Teamkollegen Kim Heiduk und Pushbiker Mikà Heming.

Nachdem auf der ersten Etappe alles aufgegangen war, was sich die Mannschaft vorgenommen hatte, gelang es den Pushbikers am folgenden Tag nur mit Corey Davis in der Favoriten Gruppe ins Finale zu kommen. In der letzen Etappe konnte Mikà Heming seinen Sprint nicht optimal lancieren. Insgesamt belegten die Maloja Pushbikers mit Corey Davis im Gesamtclassement Platz 17, in der Teamwertung Rang 7 von 21, und in der Nachwuchswertung mit Paul Taebling und Heming die Plätze 11 und 12.

 

Deutsche Strassenmeisterschaft 2020
Deutsche Strassenmeisterschaft 2020
Deutsche Strassenmeisterschaft 2020

Podiums Ziel erreicht

Es war unser ausgeschriebenes Ziel, in dieser Saison auf einem Podium bei einem UCI Rennen zu stehen. Dass dies so früh in der Saison gelingt, nimmt viel Druck von den Schultern und motiviert uns ungemein. Sowohl für den 5. Platz beim GP Rhodes wie auch der 3. Platz der ersten Etappe der Rhodos Rundfahrt konnte das Team wertvolle UCI Punkte sammeln.

Seine gute Leistung kommentiert Miká Heming rückblickend damit, dass er die Nerven nicht verloren hat, mehr mit Auge gefahren ist und sich auf sein Team verlassen konnte. “Ich konnte mich auf das Finale konzentrieren. Ohne das Team wäre das nicht möglich gewesen, die Jungs haben Verpflegung gebracht, mir Windschatten gegeben und sind Attacken gefolgt.”

Die neue Richtung stimmt, und dennoch gilt es für die Maloja Pushbikers Road, uns stabil und step by step weiterentwicklen, um Erfolge wie diese regelmäßiger werden zu lassen.

 

PULS von 180 auch als Betreuer im Begleitfahrzeug 

Das erste Mal als Physiotherapeutin dabei: Beate Kretzschmar hatte bisher noch nie so nah an einem Radteam gearbeitet. “Ich wusste nicht, was es bedeutet, ein Radrennen zu fahren. All die Organisation, die Arbeit im Hintergrund, der Umgang miteinander – ich war fasziniert. Bei Miká Hemings 5. Platz beim GP Rhodos konnte ich im Betreuer Auto mit dabei sein und ich hatte 190km einen Puls von 180. Das war der Wahnsinn, wie die Athleten so ein Rennen fahren. Es passiert so viel, du kommst kaum noch mit. Stürze, Defekte, Flaschenholen, taktische Gespräche und dass alles unter körperlicher Höchstleistung”.

“Ich habe immer ans Team geglaubt”

“Zum Schluss muss man immer an sich selbst glauben” – so die Überzeugung von Miká Heming. Wenn man vom Kopf her frisch ist, sich im Leben nicht nur alles um Radsport dreht, und man sich als Team einspielt – das sind seiner Einschätzung nach wichtige Voraussetzungen. “Das wird nicht unser bestes Ergebnis dieses Jahr bleiben”.

Die Organisatoren der Tour of Rhodos haben erneut hervorragende Arbeit geleistet mit dieser Rundfahrt, zu der wir immer wieder gerne kommen. Unser großes Lob geht auch an die Mannschaft Lotto Kern Haus, die zwei Etappen gewinnen konnte und in der Gesamtwertung den zweiten Platz belegte. Eine Leistung, die absolute Hochachtung verdient und toll mitanzusehen war.

Für das Maloja Pushbikers Road Team heißt es nun ein paar Tage Regeneration, bevor es in der kommenden Woche zur Rundfahrt Belgrad – Banja Luka UCI2.1 geht. Dort konnten die Pushbikers im letzten Jahr mit Miká Heming das Bergtrikot holen. In diesem Jahr will die Mannschaft versuchen, sich vor allem als komplettes Team zu finden und zu platzieren. Die Ergebnisse bei dem stark besetzten Rennen sind nur schwer abzuschätzen. Eines steht jedoch fest: die Pushbikers sind hungrig und motiviert. Als Team sind wir auf dem richtigen Weg.

Die Ergebnisse in der Übersicht

 

Tour of Rhodos / UCI Europe Tour 2.2

 

Prolog

17. Miká Heming

19. Paul Taebling

25. Michal Galka

 

1. Etappe

3. Miká Heming

 

Gesamtclassement GC

07. Teamwertung

17. Corey Davis (25 Sekunden Rückstand)

11. Paul Taebling (Nachwuchswertung)

12. Miká Heming (Nachwuchswertung)